From the diary of a dragonslayer: Interview with the Darkly Venus Aversa Part 2 – Nachtlieder

And here it is, my second interview with one of the bands from my blog, the swedish one-woman-project Nachtlieder. Of course, all questions were answered by Dagny Susanne herself. No long introduction, let the artist speak for herself!

Drachentöter: Describe your project and your style of music. What do you think makes it
special?
Dagny Susanne: Pretty straightforward 90’s influenced black metal. I’m bad at describing my music myself, I don’t think I have enough distance to it. But one thing might be that I
care more about song arrangement than other bands do, I think more about that
than just writing ”good riffs”.

DT: What were your intentions for your project and how did it start?
D.S.: Just to write music, really. I sat down with my guitar one late evening in 2008 and
suddenly I had my three first songs finished.

DT: Who are your musical and non-musical influences? What kind of music do you
prefer personaly?
D.S.: I mostly listen to black at the moment, but I like all kinds of music. What I’ve been
influenced by forming my musicianship is a different matter. I think all of the
swedish bands I listened to in my teens when I started to discover black are
responsible. I don’t listen to them much anymore, but all reviewers think my sound
is typically swedish!

DT: What inspires you to do what you do?
D.S.: Music inspires me. Playing guitar and coming up with something that feels good,
that’s the reason I keep going.

DT: How does music affect you and the world around you?
D.S.: Wow, you got the topic for several doctoral thesis in musicology there, haha. I
don’t think I can give a better answer than that I could not be without music.
Likewise, I could not be without silence either.

DT: How do you promote your band?
D.S.: Only social media at the moment unfortunately. And I try to accept as many
interviews as possible. My label does very hard promotional work though, getting in
touch with bloggers and journalists. This album has got very much more attention
than my first because of it.

DT: Do you have the intention to do live shows with your project?
D.S.: Yes, but I don’t know when yet. I’m keeping my eyes and ears open for suitable live
musicians, but I’m not actively searching at the moment.

DT: What’s your opinion of the music industry today?
D.S.: It is the way it’s always been I guess. Maybe a bit better, I think it’s harder for
bands to get ripped of by labels and others today compared to, like, the 60’s. You
can’t live a glamorous life if you decide to become a musician, and that’s the way
it’s always been throughout history. People seem to forget that.

DT: Tell me about your life as a musician. How do you compose and work on your
music?
D.S.: I record demos at home with guitars, bass and vocals. That’s pretty much it.
Normally I start off with just one guitar and some basic riffs and built the
arrangement from there.

DT: Describe the Extreme Metal subculture of your hometown/homeland. You have
experience with the scene in other countries, what’s the difference there?
D.S.: I hardly have experience with the scene here, much less abroad. Gothenburg
doesn’t really interest me. The ”Gothenburg sound” you know. It’s pretty far from
black. We got a few really good swedish bands, especially underground, but
Sweden isn’t actually much of a metal country considering the amount of gigs and
festivals. There is a few really hard working people though!

DT: How are your connections in the scene? Do you have bands in your circle of
friends? Do you have favorite clubs or festivals?
D.S.: Hahahahaha, no! I keep in touch with a few individuals, mostly females from
abroad. I go to Inferno in Oslo every year but it’s just a music thing for me, I know
no-one.

DT: Do you think it’s a difference, being a female metalhead than being a male
one? How are experiences as individual persons?
D.S.: You might as well ask ”do you think it’s different being female than male”, of
course it is. I think it’s important that we think about how we treat others and why,
that’s the way to kill sexism.

DT: Do you think that all-female-bands have more problems with getting known/
famous?
D.S.: Not per se, but I do believe it’s harder for women to gather the experience it takes
to get to the ”fame” level. Myself I’m struggling with an almost non-existing
musician network and that keeps me from doing a lot of things. Had I been male I
truly believe things would have been different, being invited into the community as
a fellow musician and ”brother” instead of a ”potential mate”.

DT: Did you have negative experiences with labels, other musicians or someone
else because you are female musician?
D.S.: Yes, the people who disrespect you in this way are usually people who don’t play
themselves, from my experience. But it’s not all about ”negative experience”,it’s
most of all about being evaluated for my performance in relation to my gender,
rather than just my performance.

DT: What are your plans for the future? Are you working on a new release?
D.S.: I do stuff all the time! I have ideas for an upcoming album but I haven’t started
writing yet. There might be an EP/split or two coming up also. I have quite a lot of
material that didn’t fit on my full length albums.

DT: What are your dreams and goals for your project?
D.S.: Not much really. I’m gonna continue to write as long as it feels meaningful. I take
everything one step at a time and I’ll see where I end up.

DT: Any last words you want so share?
D.S.: Thanks for your time! Support the scene etc.

Thank you a lot for the interview!

In this sense:

Good hunting!

Kommentar verfassen

